Coursera, MOOCS and Diaper Duties, Part Deux

Posted on November 12, 2012

0


CC-by-SA

Family Update

On 10/07, Yurika Hannah (“Hannah-chan”) Espinal-Yako knocked on our door.

Well, finally after several days of waiting, our second daughter arrived safe and sound (as her mother). Our greatest preoccupation had been about Fuyumi, our older daughter. More precisely, how she will react? Fortunately, she stepped out to be a great “big sister”.

Big sister, little sister

Big sister, little sister

It certainly helped that we had a home birth. Our daughter was present during the whole process and saw how her little sister came into existence. Incredibly, she took it quite well, too. I think it is motherly/daughterly instinct in which our daughter simply knew or understood what was transpiring.

prima ballerina

prima ballerina

Up to that point, Fuyumi had been behaviorally regressing while facing the prospect of not being the “baby” anymore. But seeing the baby being born (as opposed to “ZOMG, where this invader comes from” changed her behavior completely.

prima ballerina

prima ballerina

Now she is fine, and I can see her progressing back to where she was before in terms of behavior.

Hopefully, Hannah-chan will follow Fuchan’s steps into ballet.

Wife and daughter just a day before the birth

Wife and daughter just a day before the birth

MOOC/Coursera Update

I’m so far behind the Machine Learning and Scala classes with coursera.org, it is highly doubtful that I can complete all assignments on time.  Yep, even under sleep deprivation and a new family arrival, I still have the goal of completing what I started.

Due to the terrible tragedy of Hurricane Sandy, coursera instructors in general have provided extensions to the course deadlines (for me, Nov. 20.)  So that gives me some breathing room. I estimate I need to put about 15-20 hours, somehow.  As I mentioned in my previous post (and to quote Michael Jordan),   “I can accept failure, everyone fails at something. But I can’t accept not trying.”

Good things, professional good things, do not happen to you unless you make them happen. So my first goal now is to assess my lowest hanging fruit (either the Scala or the Machine Learning class); then attack it to completion; then, if there is time, attack the next one.

I have two weeks before I go back to work, so, with a lot of coffee, I’m almost sure I can pull this off with no detriment to the attention I need to put on my family at this time.

Lots of coffee indeed :)

Lots of coffee indeed 🙂

Lots of coffee indeed.

CC-by-SA

